About California’s Family Paid Leave Law

On July 1, 2015 California’s new paid family leave law (Healthy Workplace Health Family Act of 2014, AB 1522) takes effect. Employers in the state must comply with the following stipulations of the law:
  1. Display the poster on paid sick leave where employees can read it easily
  2. Provide written notice to employees with sick leave rights at the time of hire.
  3. Provide for accrual of one hour for every 30 hours worked and allow use of at least 24 hours or 3 days or provide at least 24 hours or 3 days at the beginning of a 12-month period of paid sick leave for each employee to use per year
  4. Allow eligible employees to use accrued paid sick leave upon reasonable request.
  5. Show how many days of sick leave an employee has available. This must be on a pay stub or a document issued the same day as a paycheck.
  6. Keep records showing how many hours have been earned and used for three years.Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests or uses paid sick days is prohibited. An employee may file a complaint with the Labor Commissioner against an employer who retaliates or discriminates against the employee for exercising these rights or other rights protected under the Labor Code. Local offices are listed on our website at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/DistrictOffices.htm.

    Healthy Workplace Health Family Act of 2014, AB 1522 For clients in The San Francisco North Bay Area.